Turning the Page

I dabbed my tear stained cheek for what seemed like the thousandth time within the week, as I visited with a dear teacher friend. “Can this possibly be my last day teaching middle school at Cedar Park?” What started as a way to pay for my kids christian school education, grew into a strong desire to see that my students walk out of my classroom closer to Christ and grow in “knowledge and understanding of all kinds of literature and learning.” In reading their thoughtfully written going away cards, I do believe this group of kids have grown in each of these. When that tough guy student gave me a hug and walked out of my room with tears in his eyes, I knew I imparted more than myself. When parents and students alike basked me with gifts and love at that carefully planned surprise party, I knew I imparted more than me. It is at these times I am so grateful and in awe that God entrusted me with the opportunity to spend my days with the young in his kingdom. Oh I’m tired tonight and like all teachers on the last day of school, I look forward to a summer break, but come September, I will miss these sweet and sometimes sly faces staring back at me from their pumpkin orange desks. Cedar Park family, I can speak for all of the Reidts, we will miss you immensely as we embark and this next chapter in our lives. As this Cedar Park chapter closes, I’m certain many of its characters will find their way into the next.

To these four young men God gave knowledge and understanding of all kinds of literature and learning. (Daniel 1:17 NIV)

Leave a Reply

