Educational Dilemma

A reoccurring theme coming across my phone line this spring is, “what should I do to school my kids next year.” I too am pondering this. Recently I read Called Home by Karen DeBeus and Going Public by David Pritchard. These are both excellent books on standing firm and growing in the educational track God has you on. They carry different opinions, you can figure that out by the titles, but both are filled with nuggets that make one think and yet are easy to read.
One truth I gleaned from Karen DeBeus is to really bathe your educational decision in prayer. I am fully aware that my tendency is to throw up prayers out of confusion or in asking God to bless the plans I’ve already made. DeBeus encourages us to drop the planning for a period of time and go back to a blank slate asking God what his plans are. Pray, I and then wait on the answer; simple truth, but often neglected.
The other truth that resonates in my being is to take steps of action, ignoring fear that will get in the way. The concerns that turn into fear, are not something that we should make decisions by. We are often called out of the boat to walk on water. God’s love for our families and His promise that He will not leave us through the process, will sustain us when our circumstances are adverse.
This very familiar verse pretty much reminds us, He has a particular plan for each of our kids, ask God what it is, and He will answer. Now there’s a promise to hang on to.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. (Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV)

Next post…an example of God’s faithful plan to see one through a unique educational situation.

Leave a Reply

