Seasons Change

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. (Ecclesiastes 3:11 NIV)

Most people feel it in the air, some in their bones. The changing from one season to the next. Spring is giving way to summer in these parts. The seasons change late here, or did they just change early in Western Washington? Regardless, the final wisps of chilly evenings and soggy days are going to be but a memory very soon. I love the change. Three months is perfect for each burst of weather. The drastic changes are one of those things we truly enjoy about North Idaho, a four season paradise. As each quarter ends, I am refreshed with the newness the next brings. This must imbed in my soul, for I sense my season in life is in a great shift as well. As the hatchlings of my youth begin to flutter away, building nests of their own, I fret, not because I fear for them, or feel they are ill prepared, but because those tender baby years are gone, so very gone. I look to the next season. I hesitate a bit. Will this next be as sweet as the last? Will there be as many tender moments? Will there be more pain? Oh, it looks so different.

The man who whole stole my heart did so at an alter 23 years ago this week.

image

image

With excitement and joy we embarked on life. No fear, only anticipation of things great, babies to be had, careers to start, houses to build. At this junction, the future is a bit more uncertain. Is it wisdom? Oh, not so sure about that. I think there is wisdom found in ignorance, or shall I call it childlike faith or youth. I can’t help but pen these thoughts. Not sure if you sit on the brink of a season that is shifting, but I know I’m there, I’ve sensed the change for some time. I know we’ve moved and that’s brought change, but it’s more than that, it’s the shifting of my role: daughter, wife, mother, teacher, caregiver. Am I ready to step into this next stage of life? I guess that’s just it. There is no stepping. Who steps into fall or summer. It just happens. Things change. Things change. Had to say that twice because the just do, they change. Without our advise, nor acceptance. So, I choose to embrace all this next stage in life has. The beauties, the sweet memories, the new careers, new family members, new babies, and new friends, even the new pains. Actually, it doesn’t look so different than the past season, it’s just coupled with a bit more of an understanding that I must take the opportunities granted to enjoy it all. That is one thing time does bring, the realization one must sit back and enjoy every moment, even the painful uncomfortable bits.

I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and to do good in their lives, and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the good of all his labor—it is the gift of God. (Ecclesiastes 3:12, 13 NKJV)

For a house update… After a few months of helping Wilson start his business, Jared is glad to be working back at home. For the past two weeks we have all been hauling, washing, and mortaring rocks to the front of our house.

The process goes as such:

Collect rocks that are found in piles all over our property in Asher’s truck.

I told Jared I feel blessed we can use these free rocks. He chuckled and replied, "Oh they weren't free my dear wife."

I told Jared I feel blessed we can use these free rocks. He chuckled and replied, “Oh they weren’t free my dear wife.”

Asher's truck, The Banana, hard at work.

Asher’s truck, The Banana, hard at work.

The rocks are scoured with brush and water, split with chisel, if needed, and then laid out on the trailer and pallets.

Max, Lib, and newest family member, Asher's dog Rex, earning their keep. Or should I say keeping what they earn!

Max, Lib, and newest family member, Asher’s dog Rex, earning their keep. Or should I say keeping what they earn!

The rocks are then covered with tile mortar, it sticks to the lathe that we screwed to the house much better than brick mortar, and strategically placed on pillar or house to leave little or no gap between rocks.

Starting out level with a pressure treated 2x4.

Starting out level with a pressure treated 2×4.

Practice pillars are done, Asher and Jared start the wall.

Practice pillars are done, Asher and Jared start the wall.

We will go ALL the way up the wall where you see yellow to finish off the siding on the front of the house.

We will go ALL the way up the wall where you see yellow to finish off the siding on the front of the house.

Like so many other things in this house, the wall project is underway, but not complete. We will keep you posted.

Take time to enjoy the sweet things in life along the way.

Take time to enjoy the sweet things in life along the way.

4 comments on “Seasons Change

  1. Desiree Albano says:

    Everything looks great! I miss you, happy Anniversary to you and Jared.

    Like

  2. Bonnie Friedly says:

    I love your wise words . I love you too.
    .

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.