Just stop, would ya?

“For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:30

image

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” Matthew 6:33 NIV

image

In the perfect stillness of the morning I find rest. A frenzied summer of visitors to entertain, children to cart around, multiple mouths to feed and tend, on top of a house to build has worn me emotional thin, dry, complaining, seeing only the difficult and not the blessing. I have come to realize my nature is to continue on, just adding the additional hardship of constant complaints of my heart. You may find yourself in a similar state. Knowing in the pit of your being you should squelch the attitude, but not having the strength to do so. Most likely it comes by some other voice than our own that reminds us whose we are, and that our attitude is not lining up with being a daughter or son, of His. My reminding voice, is often that of my husband’s. In the past few weeks he has brought two redeeming conversations my way. The first, was a bit on the “get it together and do what God has for you to do side;” this one woke me up to my heart condition. The second, it was a suggested command, if there is such a thing. He suggested I stay home with Liberty and the dogs for a week while he headed back to Bothell with the boys to oversee his shop. I did, even though I was insecure to see him drive away. Friendships on the other side of the mountain beckoned me, fear of going through a week full of nights in the middle of the forest alone, and guilt of taking a whole week without responsibility, all urged me to refuse the gentle gift Jared was offering me.

Do you find yourself struggling to stop even when given the opportunity? I find I resist; I resist the sweet breath of refreshment. Gotta screw loose I guess. The problem is, I don’t think I’m the only one who does. Many of you don’t stop. Well it’s time. Stop! Stop! Stop! Don’t let the last few weeks of summer go by without allowing God’s sweet spirit to refuel you. You might have gone on multiple vacations and read a dozen books, but if you have not found a heart connect with your Lord yet, it’s time. Breath! Selah! Go outside, walk by yourself, thank Him for the full summer, talk to Him, ask for a refueling.

This morning, I awoke to a calm after a major wind and thunder storm that passed throughout the night. It did me wonders. That’s life. The tumultuous storms in the midst of dark yet the sweetness of waking up to peace and refreshing. Grateful, able to continue, refueled, filled up, all because of refusing to listen to the relentless drive to press on in our own strength. Let me be that reminding voice that tells you. Just stop, would ya?

God has told his people, “Here is a place of rest; let the weary rest here. This is a place of quiet rest.” But they would not listen. Isaiah 28:12 NLT
Oh Lord, may our hearts listen, and rest.

 

Ok, so I may have been busy entertaining visitors, but wait till you see what Jared has accomplished so far this summer. Apparently, he is the one who needs to rest!

Rock project grew into portico ceiling project. One thing always leads to the next. Love how the front is shaping up. No more ugly yellow foam to welcome us home!

Rock project grew into portico ceiling project. One thing always leads to the next. Love how the front is shaping up. No more ugly yellow foam to welcome us home!

Jared putting cedar tongue  and groove in the portico.

Jared putting cedar tongue and groove in the portico.

In process on the portico

In process on the portico

Portico ceiling complete!

Portico ceiling complete!

There are just few remaining things to do on the front: grout rocks, touch up paint, purchase and install a front door.  What an amazing job Jared did on the rocks!

There are just few remaining things to do on the front: grout rocks, touch up paint, purchase and install a front door. What an amazing job Jared did on the rocks!

Another Craig's list special, trusses for the back of the house second floor deck.

Another Craig’s list special, trusses for the back of the house second floor deck.

The back of the house is getting a hardi plank wrap. The part he left unsided will be where the trusses for deck will hang all along the back of the house.

The back of the house is getting a hardi plank wrap. The part he left unsided will be where the trusses for the deck that will hang all along the back of the house.

Just a bit more to go. :)

Just a bit more to go. 🙂

5 comments on “Just stop, would ya?

  1. Desiree Albano says:

    What a wonderful blessing and a wonderful thoughtful hubby you have! I love reading your blogs and seeing your posts! So much love and support! Love you tons!

    Like

  2. Joyce Hull says:

    Needed your words as I rush off to church family camp and time with my sisters. Summer is going fast as I packed a jacket for the trip! Jared has done so much. WE were there just two weeks ago and he hadnt started on the back yet.Get time with Liberty and the Lord. Sleep late, stay up late, and take a nap or two.

    Like

  3. JoAnne says:

    What a nice hubby you have to suggest staying home with Libby. I’m sure you deserve it. I hope you had some nice mom-daughter time. Been enjoying reading about all the adventuresand the family have been having. Jared’s done an amazing job on the house and Griffin says the portico is “beautiful”. We miss you guys and praying that God is shining His love down on you every day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

